Affiliate links in bio work by adding each link as its own labeled block on your page, disclosing the relationship clearly near the link, and pinning the most relevant one when you post about it. Disclosure isn’t optional. The FTC requires a clear, unavoidable statement of any material connection every time the link appears, not just once on your page.
Affiliate income is one of the easiest ways to monetize a following that already trusts your recommendations, no product to build, no inventory, no delivery. But it comes with two things creators underestimate: commission rates vary a lot by program and category, and disclosure rules aren’t a suggestion.
This guide covers how to structure affiliate blocks on your page, what disclosure actually has to say, and how commission rates compare across common programs so you know what you’re working with. If you’re weighing a dedicated storefront instead of individual links, affiliate storefronts compared covers ShopMy, LTK and Amazon storefronts side by side.
Key Takeaways
- Each affiliate link deserves its own labeled block, not a buried mention inside another link’s description.
- Disclosure must be clear and placed right where the link appears, every time, not once somewhere on the page.
- Amazon Associates commission rates vary by category, roughly 1% to 20% depending on what’s being purchased.
- Never disparage the retailer or product in your disclosure or copy; state the relationship plainly.
- Track which affiliate block actually converts, since not every program pays the same for the same click.
How to set up affiliate blocks
Add each affiliate offer as its own block with a label describing what it is, “The camera I use” or “20% off my skincare pick” rather than a bare brand name. A visitor deciding whether to tap needs to know what they’re getting before they commit to leaving your page.
Group affiliate blocks together if you run several, under a heading like “Things I recommend,” so they read as a curated list rather than scattered promotional links mixed in with your main content.
Disclosure isn’t optional
The FTC’s Endorsement Guides require that any material connection between you and a product, including an affiliate commission, be disclosed in plain language, placed where the endorsement appears, not buried in a bio or a linked page. The guidance is clear that disclosure must be unavoidable and repeated every time the endorsement or link shows up, not stated once and assumed to cover future posts.
Practically, that means:
- Label the block itself, “Affiliate link” or “I earn a commission on this” works, rather than relying on a general disclosure elsewhere on your page.
- Repeat the disclosure in the caption or video where you point people to the link, not just on the bio page.
- Keep the language plain. A disclosure buried in hashtags or jargon doesn’t meet the standard.
Getting this wrong carries real risk beyond reputation. The FTC’s rules under 16 CFR Part 255 apply to affiliate relationships specifically, and non-compliance can carry meaningful penalties, so treat disclosure as a fixed cost of running affiliate links, not an optional extra step.
What affiliate programs actually pay
Commission rates vary widely by program and, within a program, by product category. Amazon Associates, the most common starting point for creators, pays roughly 1% to 20% depending on category, with rates set and adjusted by Amazon rather than negotiable per creator (earnifyhub.com, September 2026). Amazon has also restructured parts of its commission program during 2026, with some categories seeing rate reductions, so check the current rate card for your category before assuming last year’s numbers still apply (novadata.io, September 2026).
| Program type | Typical commission range | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon Associates | Roughly 1% to 20% by category | Rates set per category, subject to change (earnifyhub.com, September 2026) |
| Niche retailer affiliate programs | Often 5% to 20% | Varies widely; check the program’s own terms |
| Software / SaaS affiliate programs | Often 15% to 40%, sometimes recurring | Higher margin products can pay more per conversion |
| Course or digital product affiliate programs | Often 20% to 50% | Creator-run programs frequently pay more than retail affiliate networks |
Rates shift often enough that the number you find today may not hold in six months. Verify the current rate on the program’s own page before you build content strategy around a specific commission figure. Platform-run programs like TikTok Shop’s affiliate marketplace work on the same commission logic inside the app, which social commerce for creators covers alongside the rest of in-app selling.
Placement that actually converts
Affiliate links convert best when they’re contextual, tied to a specific post or moment, rather than a permanent fixture nobody notices. Pin an affiliate link right after you post content that references it, then let it settle back into normal position once that context passes.
Post-level attribution helps here directly: seeing which specific video or caption drove clicks to an affiliate block tells you what kind of content to make more of, rather than treating all affiliate traffic as one undifferentiated number. Creator income streams covers how affiliate income compares to other monetization paths for the same audience.
Never disparage what you’re recommending against
If you compare products in affiliate content, describe differences factually and avoid negative claims you can’t back up. A retailer or brand named in your content should be described honestly, what it does and doesn’t offer, rather than with unverified criticism, both for legal reasons and because it reads as more trustworthy to your audience.
Track blocks, not just total clicks
Not every affiliate program pays the same for the same amount of traffic. A block with fewer clicks but a higher commission rate can outearn a more popular one. Tracking link in bio clicks and reviewing link in bio metrics that matter both help you see per-block performance instead of one flat number.
Disclose it right, then let the page do the work
A properly labeled, disclosed affiliate block that pins when it’s relevant and reports back which post drove the click turns a recommendation into a real income stream. Create your More.You page and set your affiliate links up the way the FTC, and your audience, actually expect.
FAQ
Do I have to disclose affiliate links on my link in bio page itself?
Yes. The FTC’s guidance requires disclosure wherever the link or endorsement appears, which includes the bio page block itself, not just the social post that points to it.
How much can I actually earn from Amazon Associates?
It depends entirely on category and volume, since rates run roughly 1% to 20% depending on what’s purchased (earnifyhub.com, September 2026). A creator sending traffic to high-commission categories can earn meaningfully more than one sending the same volume to a low-commission category.
Can I just write “affiliate link” once at the top of my bio?
No. Disclosure needs to be placed where each individual endorsement or link appears and repeated each time it shows up, not stated once and assumed to cover every future link.
Should I disclose links that don’t pay a commission but were gifted?
Yes. The FTC’s material connection standard covers gifted products and free access, not just commissions, so the same disclosure rules apply.
Do affiliate links hurt my link in bio page’s trust with visitors?
Not if disclosed honestly and placed among genuinely useful content. Visitors respond worse to hidden or undisclosed affiliate relationships than to clearly labeled ones, since the label itself signals you’re not trying to obscure anything.
Sources
- FTC’s Endorsement Guides: What People Are Asking (ftc.gov, September 2026)
- Amazon Associates commission rate reporting (earnifyhub.com, September 2026)
- Amazon Associates program restructuring reporting (novadata.io, September 2026)
- More.You product brief, section 3 (attribution).