Paid usage rights decide whether a brand may put ad money behind your content, and what you earn when it does. Whitelisting, TikTok Spark Ads and Meta Partnership Ads are the usual routes. They matter more this month. In one week, Pinterest, YouTube and TikTok each gave brands new access to creators’ content or data, and none said what the creator gets paid.
A week earlier, on 30 September, ShopMy launched Spotlights, which turns best-selling creator posts into ads and pays the creator through commission. More paid reach can be good news. The catch is that usage you once priced as a line item now arrives as a default setting.
Key Takeaways
- Paid usage puts money behind your content, through whitelisting, Spark Ads or Partnership Ads.
- Three platforms widened brand access between 5 and 9 October, and none disclosed creator pay.
- Your permissions enforce the deal. Spark Ads codes run for a set period, and Meta permissions are revocable any time.
- Commission-only usage suits some creators and not others. Click data is your bargaining power either way.
What are paid usage rights and whitelisting?
Paid usage rights are the permission a creator gives a brand to put ad money behind the creator’s content, often under the creator’s own handle. Whitelisting is the umbrella term for it. On Meta, it runs through Partnership Ads, and on TikTok, through Spark Ads. Both depend on permissions you grant, and both can be priced apart from the post itself.
This is the paid side of content usage rights. Organic reposts, scope and perpetuity basics are covered in our guide to getting paid as a creator.
How Meta Partnership Ads permissions work
Partnership Ads, formerly called branded content ads, need permission from the partner whose handle the ad runs from (help.instagram.com, October 2026). Content-level permission covers one post, story or reel, shared through a partnership ad code or a boost toggle. Advertisers can edit your content for the ad while your original post stays the same (help.instagram.com, October 2026).
Account-level permission goes much further. It lets an advertiser create ads from your handle without any existing post, and turn posts that tag or mention them into ads. Creators can revoke either kind at any time.
How TikTok Spark Ads authorization works
Spark Ads promote an organic TikTok post from the creator’s account. You turn on Ad authorization in the post’s Ad settings and choose a period of 7, 30, 60 or 365 days. Then you generate a video code for the advertiser (ads.tiktok.com, October 2026).
| Route | Who grants access | Term | Creator pay | Ask for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TikTok Spark Ads code | You, per video | 7, 30, 60 or 365 days | Negotiated | A period that matches the contract |
| Partnership Ads, content level | You, per post | Revocable any time | Negotiated | An end date in writing |
| Partnership Ads, account level | You, for the whole handle | Revocable any time | Negotiated | A spend cap and copy approval |
| Pinterest brand promotion | A platform setting, then you | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Terms before you approve |
| ShopMy Spotlights | You, per request or pre-approved | Pausable by you | Standard affiliate commission | Per-ad reporting |
What did Pinterest, YouTube and TikTok change in October?
Between 5 and 9 October, all three gave brands more access to creators. Pinterest let brands promote eligible creator Pins without a prior partnership. YouTube tested showing brands the analytics of opted-in creators. TikTok added creator content to an advertiser approval workflow. None disclosed what creators are paid.
Pinterest: promotion without a partnership
Pinterest’s help center reads: “Brands can promote eligible Pins that you create on Pinterest. You’ll get an email if a brand decides to promote your Pin.” (help.pinterest.com, October 2026). Social Media Today reported on 7 October that creators can allow or decline each promotion, or opt out entirely (socialmediatoday.com, October 2026).
Neither that report, MediaPost’s 9 October story nor the help page gives payment terms, regions or timing (mediapost.com, October 2026). Our Pinterest guide for creators covers the profile basics.
YouTube: a test that showed brands your analytics
YouTube confirmed to Tubefilter on 8 October a small experiment called Channel Search. Some brand channels could see opted-in creators’ unique viewers, watch time, audience age and gender, and top countries (tubefilter.com, October 2026). The data came from creators who opted into sharing through the Creator Partner Hub. YouTube rolled access back after a non-brand account got it by mistake.
Shared analytics let brands price you before you quote. More visibility also brings more pitches, so know the warning signs of fake brand deals.
TikTok: creator content in an ad approval flow
TikTok announced Smart+ Creative Selection on 5 October. It brings advertisers’ own assets, Symphony’s AI-generated creatives “and even creator content” into one approval workflow (newsroom.tiktok.com, October 2026). The post gives no timing, markets or creator compensation.
ShopMy Spotlights: paid usage, paid as commission
Spotlights launched on 30 September. Brands turn posts that already drive affiliate sales into Meta Partnership Ads and TikTok Spark Ads. The release says “standard creator commission replaces a flat production fee” (prnewswire.com, September 2026). Creators approve each request or pre-approve brands with Instant Spotlights.
QUASA’s 6 October explainer adds that creators cannot currently negotiate a separate rate per Spotlight, and can pause an active one (quasa.io, October 2026). If your posts sell, that turns old content into income. If your value is reach, commission pays nothing for impressions without sales. Either is reasonable if you choose it.
Which settings should you check this week?
Check every place a platform can grant access to your content without a fresh conversation. That means Pinterest’s promotion toggle, YouTube’s insights sharing, Instagram ad codes, TikTok ad authorizations and any auto-approve option on an affiliate platform. Each is a usage decision you’ve already made.
- Pinterest. Go to Settings, then Content permissions, and find “Let advertisers promote your content”. Turning it off doesn’t affect campaigns already running (help.pinterest.com, October 2026).
- YouTube. In YouTube Studio on desktop, go to Settings, Channel, Advanced settings. The channel insights sharing option is off by default and shares channel statistics and audience demographics with brands (support.google.com, October 2026).
- Instagram. Archiving a post doesn’t remove an advertiser’s ad code access, and up to 2 advertisers can use one code (help.instagram.com, October 2026). Stopping active ads and turning off the code are separate steps, so do both when a deal ends (help.instagram.com, October 2026).
- TikTok. Match the authorization period on each authorized post to the agreed term.
- Affiliate platforms. On Spotlights, choose between Instant Spotlights and approving each request.
How do you price paid usage?
Price paid usage by what the brand controls once it has access. That’s how long ads run, how much money goes behind them, and how much of your handle it can use. A single post on a 30-day code is a small ask. Account-level access with an open budget is a large one, and your price should show it.
There’s no standard public rate card for whitelisting, so set your own and apply it consistently. Commission-only offers trade a guaranteed fee for a share of sales. That fits when your audience buys, and fits less when the ad’s job is awareness. List paid usage as an add-on in your creator media kit so brands see the price early.
What should a whitelisting clause include?
A whitelisting clause names the access granted, the run period, the channels and the spend cap. It also sets the edits allowed, any exclusivity during the run, the takedown steps and the payment. If the clause can’t answer each of those in one plain sentence, it’s too vague to sign.
| Clause | What to write | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Access | Named posts, or account level with limits | Account access lets ads run from your handle without a post of yours |
| Run period | Start and end dates matching the code | A 365-day code can outlast a 30-day deal |
| Channels | Named platforms and placements | Each platform you add is an audience you didn’t price |
| Spend cap | The maximum budget behind your content | Spend decides how many people see you in an ad |
| Edits | Cut-downs and captions, no change to claims | Meta lets advertisers edit your content for ads |
| Exclusivity | Category, named competitors, run period | It’s income you can’t take elsewhere |
| Takedown | Who stops the ads, and how fast | Ending access and stopping ads can be separate steps |
| Payment | Fee, commission or both, plus reporting | Commission needs numbers you can check |
Does paid usage still need a disclosure?
Yes. A brand paying to amplify your content doesn’t change the relationship behind it. A fee, gifted product or commission is a connection your audience should know about. Put the disclosure in the content itself, so it travels with the post into any ad a brand builds from it.
In the US, the FTC says connections consumers wouldn’t expect should be disclosed clearly and conspicuously when they affect how people weigh an endorsement (ftc.gov, October 2026). That includes affiliate commissions. Other countries set their own rules.
How does your bio page help you negotiate usage?
Your bio page works on both sides of a usage deal. Before it, a brand checks your work and audience there. After an ad runs, curious viewers land there from your profile. A page that holds up in both moments makes your asking price easier to defend.
Post-level attribution shows which post drove clicks on your page, so you can name the content that already moves people. How post attribution works explains the tracking.
A More.You page reports clicks and CTR per block by source and ties each click back to the post that drove it. It’s built to be read by people and by AI agents. Create your More.You page and bring proof to your next usage conversation.
FAQ
What is the difference between whitelisting and Spark Ads?
Whitelisting is the general term for a brand running ads through a creator’s identity. Spark Ads are TikTok’s version, where you authorize one post for a set period. On Instagram and Facebook, the equivalent format is Partnership Ads.
Does Pinterest pay creators when a brand promotes their Pin?
Pinterest hasn’t said. Its help page and the October coverage describe the email notice, the choice per promotion and the account-level opt-out, with no payment terms disclosed. Ask the brand for terms before you approve.
Can I revoke paid usage permissions after granting them?
On the platforms, usually yes. Meta says creators can revoke partnership ad permissions at any time, and Pinterest has an opt-out toggle. A signed contract can still commit you to a term, so agree the end date first.
Sources
- Pinterest Help, Creator Commerce Hub: brand promotion of eligible Pins, email notice and opt-out steps (help.pinterest.com, October 2026)
- Social Media Today, Pinterest expands creator content promotions, 7 October 2026 (socialmediatoday.com, October 2026)
- MediaPost, Pinterest invites brands to boost eligible creator Pins, 9 October 2026 (mediapost.com, October 2026)
- Tubefilter, YouTube’s Channel Search experiment confirmed, 8 October 2026 (tubefilter.com, October 2026)
- TikTok Newsroom, AI-powered updates for advertisers including Smart+ Creative Selection, 5 October 2026 (newsroom.tiktok.com, October 2026)
- ShopMy launches Spotlights, press release, 30 September 2026 (prnewswire.com, September 2026)
- QUASA, explainer on how Spotlights pays creators, 6 October 2026 (quasa.io, October 2026)
- Instagram Help Center, manage content-level permissions for partnership ads (help.instagram.com, October 2026)
- Instagram Help Center, stop an advertiser from running partnership ads from your account, including account-level permissions (help.instagram.com, October 2026)
- TikTok Ads Manager Help, creating Spark Ads and choosing the authorization period (ads.tiktok.com, October 2026)
- YouTube Help, manage channel insights sharing with advertisers, brands and platforms (support.google.com, October 2026)
- FTC, Endorsement Guides: What People Are Asking (ftc.gov, October 2026)
- More.You product brief, docs/moreyou/01-product-brief.md, sections 2 and 3 (analytics, post-level attribution, AI-readable pages)